The Bob Forster Salvers – Annual Awards for The Most Promising Girl & Boy in The County

These awards were established in 2001.  Mrs Brenda Forster donated two salvers in memory of her late husband Bob Forster, who served on the Executive Committee (now renamed Management Committee) for 14 years, acting as County Secretary for 10 of those.  Bob retired from the Committee in 1997, but unfortunately became very ill in the autumn of 1998 and died towards the end of the following year.  Bob represented Northumberland during his playing career and did a huge amount of voluntary administrative work for the County.

The annual awards that bear his name are made to Northumberland’s “most promising” girl and boy.  The criteria, as agreed previously by the County’s Schools and Youth Sub-Committee, are as follows:

  • Players considered should generally be Under 15 or over (using Badminton England’s age classifications), although particularly strong candidates at younger ages may be considered;
  • They would have clear promise to develop into strong players at senior County level;
  • They would be expected to be in the top County squad;
  • They would be strong supporters of the junior County teams; and
  • They would be nominated by the County coach(es) in conjunction with appropriate team managers.

Previous winners of the awards are:

2001 Lauren Young Will Sharp
2002 Sara Potter Maurice Bourke
2003 Niki Cholakova Tom Sharp
2004 Sarah Taylor Hugh Woodford
2005 Eleanor Laws Andrew Grant
2006 Helena Woodburn Ben Mellish
2007 Victoria Brewis Steven Gibbons
2008 Emma Reaston Ben Oakley
2009 Alex Brown Mayank Banerjee
2010 Katherine Tyler Tom Appleyard
2011 Lauren Walker Daniel Conway
2012 Hannah Charlton Jishnu Bhattacharya
2013 Annie Karn Garrylee McMullen
2014 Sarah Wilson Philip Pahatouridis
2015 Ellie Roberts Gyan Chadda
2016 Emily Harrison Ashraf Alam
2017 Anna Railton Jamie Tinnion
2018 Sarah Bambrick George Moran


Comments are closed.